• This number has been reached in three years and nine months since the airport opened in February 2013.
  • The 20 millionth passenger is Ecuadorian and was returning to Quito after a trip through South America.


Quito, November 23, 2016. The number of passengers who have traveled through Mariscal Sucre Airport has already reached 20 million since the start of operations on February 20, 2013. This afternoon, our 20 millionth passenger arrived on TAME flight EQ 312 from Guayaquil. The passenger was María Fernanda Lucano, who lives in Quito and arrived after a trip through South America.

Upon her arrival she was met with a celebratory atmosphere and was the VIP guest at the party organized in her honor, where Corporación Quiport gifted her a membership to access the airport’s VIP lounges and use the fast track service.

Carlos Criado, Commercial Director of Quiport, congratulated the lucky passenger and also gave her a certificate to mark this special occasion.

María Fernanda Lucano was surprised at being the 20 millionth passenger. “I am pleased to see how Quito Airport continues to grow and improve”, she said while thanking Quiport for always thinking of the comfort of passengers and users.


For Andrew O’Brian, President and CEO of Quiport, it is a source of pride to have reached 20 million passengers at Mariscal Sucre Airport, and is thanks to the evident improvement in connectivity offered by the airport since it started to operate in the parish of Tababela.

We always have the chance to improve. “The environment at an airport is dynamic, it is always changing and requires our daily attention and we are constantly asking ourselves what we can do better”, he explained.

2M 1

 pastel 20M

About Corporación Quiport S.A.

Corporación Quiport is the company in charge of the comprehensive management of Mariscal Sucre International Airport of Quito, Ecuador, located in Tababela, 24 km from the capital city.

Quiport is formed by important companies with vast experience in the concession and operation of airports: CCR of Brazil, Odinsa S.A. of Colombia and HAS Development Corporation (HAS-DC) of the USA.